Holiness vs. Cleanliness

be ye holyBeing holy is uncool.  Most Christians want to live clean, moral, God-fearing lives.  Just, don’t ask me to be holy, OK?  I might have to give up some stuff.

Living clean means I don’t watch trashy TV and movies.  Living holy means I don’t watch anything that I couldn’t invite Jesus over to watch with me.

Living clean means I’m a staunch conservative and I stand against abortion and “anything Obama came up with”.  Living holy means I pray for my president’s salvation and refuse to give in to idle gossip and hate-mongering.

Living clean means I don’t read romance novels with questionable scenes.  Living holy means I don’t read “Christian” romance where the characters are still hanging all over each other and behaving inappropriately.

Living clean means I don’t listen to rap, hip-hop, metal, or anything with sinful lyrics.  Living holy means I don’t listen to any music that I turn off when I see another church member next to me at the stop light.  (Bonus: A Ukrainian friend gave me a pretty good rule of thumb.  If someone who doesn’t speak your language were to listen to your music, would they assume it was pop, country, or another worldly genre based on the sound?)

Living clean means I don’t hang all over my boyfriend and I save myself for marriage.  Living holy means I keep my hands to myself, PERIOD, I stay where people can see us, I give no occasion to the flesh to fulfil the lusts thereof.

Set your standards high, people.  When we stand before God’s judgment seat, we won’t have to say “I kept too far away from worldly things.”  We will have to answer for how close we got to the world’s sanding belt that wore off the edge to our effectiveness for God.

“Be ye holy, for I am holy.”  Are we truly seeking to be like Christ, or are we just trying to live cleaner than the world?

One thought on “Holiness vs. Cleanliness

  1. Pingback: 27 MORE Ways You Know You’re a Ministry Brat | If Ye Stand Fast

Anything you'd like to add?

